A Portrait of Rain Felkl.

Discipline: Splitboarding

Juneau, Alaska Áak’w Kwáan Territory - Tlingit Country 

Currently Living: Salt Lake City, UT

Height: 5’5

When did you first start snowboarding?
Age 17 (skied before then starting at age 6)

What do you most enjoy about your sport?
Partnership and the freedom of human powdered exploration. 

How do you define success?
Giving something my full attention with logistics, preparation and commitment. Then when it is all said and done, learning something from it and continuing to grow. 

What are you most proud of, either in life, your sport or both?
I’m still alive roaming the mountains, learning and continuing to explore. 

Who are your heroes?
Those before me who paved the way with humility 

What inspires you?
Scheming big adventures with people I love!

What are your hobbies outside of your sport?
Outside of snowboarding, I love gravel cycling, Going long distances in new places on two wheels carrying only the essentials. 

What’s your guilty pleasure?
Bringing Reese's on every splitboard outing 

What are your hidden talents?
Cheffing up a good meal

Tell us about your most favorite place in the world:
Juneau, Alaska!

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be, and why?
I want to take the time to learn how to sew better and be more efficient at repairing my own gear. 

Tell us about a time in your life when you have been scared:
Down climbing steep rock with my snowboard on my back. 

Describe your perfect day:
Riding corn on solar slopes and cold powder on shady slopes all in the same day. Then sharing a good meal and beers with my partners. 

How would your friends describe you?
Spontaneous, loving, and a little bit crazy.